A Teacher’s Prayer

Dear God,

 

A new school day is about to begin

and my classroom door will soon open

to the students you’ve assigned to my care…

Open my mind and heart to each of them

and especially to the ones

who will challenge me the most…

Help me challenge my students, all of them,

to study, to learn, to grow in knowledge

and even in a little wisdom…

Help me remember, Lord,

how young my students are:

give me patience to help them grow up, at least a little,

and insight to know the help they need…

Help me to understand that sometimes

my students may not understand me:

may I be clear in the things I say and do,

and in how I say and do them…

These children don’t know the burdens and worries

my heart may bring to the classroom,

so help me remember, Lord,

that their hearts may be anxious and heavy, too…

Keep me from favoring any particular students, Lord,

except for those who most need my help…

Let my decisions in the classroom

be fair and just, honest and true…

Send your Spirit to fill me with gifts

of knowledge and understanding, counsel and wisdom…

Lord, open my mind and heart to my students’ parents,

especially those who will challenge me the most:

help me challenge them to challenge their children

to study, to learn and to grow…

Help me to teach as you teach, Lord:

make me firm when I need to be,

gentle in all things,

and patient until the last bell rings…

A new school day is about to begin, Lord:

I wonder: what will you teach me today?

Amen

Leave a Reply

