Teachers are the best!

Showing dedication by always trying to make the next year better than the last and helping students to overcome challenges and inspiring their intellectual curiosity! Teachers move students academically and onto bigger futures. Their love of teaching is potent and contagious.

TEACHING IS ‘A CALLING’

I originally tried to run from my calling. It was put on my heart,  after I realized that I truly wanted to make an impact. Yes, teachers are called by God. I’m proud to be a teacher. What a precious job!

THEY TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THEIR STUDENTS’ SUCCESS

I know that my students’ achievement begins and ends with me. It’s me starting at 7 o’clock every morning for a lot of my kids. It’s me all day long and I can’t put the burden of that child’s success on someone else when I know that it’s me all day long. It’s a burden I shoulder proudly. It’s me on Saturdays. I want to know that I have done right by that child. They deserve that from me. That’s my job.

When I look at the kids in my classroom, I imagine them as my own children. I want them to have a great future!

Facilitation is my role in the classroom. But, beyond the classroom and even within the classroom a teacher wears many hats. You become a counselor, a nurse, and a parent.

THEY’RE LIFELONG LEARNERS 

This quality is “absolutely key.”

THEY GO THE EXTRA MILE AND THEN SOME

Meeting basic needs helps students put their education in focus. As a teacher, you’re a mom and you’re a caretaker. It’s what you have to do. We cannot improve students’ academics until we address what they need socially and emotionally.

THEY KNOW EACH STUDENT PERSONALLY

Learning begins with establishing trust and comfort. The children must know that their room is a safe place.

THEY VALUE COLLABORATION

Teachers meet with colleagues to exchange information and figure out ways to adapt that to their subject area.

THEY ARE EXUBERANT, POSITIVE, UNDAUNTED

I enjoy laughing and having a good time. I think you can make learning fun. You’ll do anything you can do to capture their excitement and get them to know that you can have fun while you learn and listen.

Reading at home is key. I feel that early on, the best thing a parent could do is read every single night to their children. If you read to them, you’re your child’s best teacher. They can’t get that anywhere else but from their home. To hear their parents read with a fluency rate and how they read with expression, it’s so, so important. They model what their parents do. If they come in with that, they’re going to have a huge gain.

THEY BELIEVE THAT EVERY CHILD CAN LEARN

If you ask me my teaching philosophy, it’s that all children can succeed. What I do in my classroom from day one is to set up the classroom as a welcoming and safe environment. It’s a safe place where they can take chances on their learning. They do have a voice. I respect them and their thoughts and strengths and weaknesses.

THEY KNOW THE NEED FOR COMMUNITY SUPPORT

It takes a community to teach our students. It’s not just one teacher. Community is key. The community is what we need to help us in the classroom.

Students want to know that you care about teaching and you care about them. You have to take an interest in them as individuals. When you care, they remember you and more importantly, the lessons they learned.

Teachers know that they have to be well organized and prepared for class and maintain control in the classroom. Teachers need to seek feedback from the students to ensure that they are engaged and understanding.

Teachers need to know the material before teaching it. Teachers should be approachable and respect the students.

Leave a Reply

